Visual Response Challenge

VISUAL RESPONSE CHALLENGE

ODETTE ENGLAND – DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY

DUE: 9am 10th of March 2015

By Belle Ellery

  1. Visit the Art Gallery of SA<http://www.artgallery.sa.gov.au/agsa/home> on North Terrace and make a visual response to one (1) artwork of your choice, together with a minimum 100 words on why your chosen artwork interests you
  1. Read the first two chapters of the textbook (p6-36) and make a visual response to one (1) photograph of your choice from these chapters, together with a minimum 100 words on why your chosen photograph interests you.

ART GALLERY RESPONSE:

In response to our task to visit The Art Gallery of South Australia and create a visual response to one art work of our choice, I decided to contemplate a section of lace which is apart of the lace: the art of adornment exhibition currently on display in Gallery 19a.

the art of adornment  - from The Art Gallery of South Australia

the art of adornment
– from The Art Gallery of South Australia

I chose to focus on the lace because I was captivated by the way the light shone through the delicate fabric to create the beautiful shadows on the wall. I was interested in the way the light travelling through the elusive textile created the dark patterns, almost like a negative of itself.

My visual response:

my visual response - lace

my visual response – lace

my visual response - lace

my visual response – lace

I chose to respond to the lace by reversing the direction of the light. In the Art Gallery the lace on the wall had a light shining directly onto/through it in order to create the shadow on the wall behind it. In the image I have created I chose to place the light within the lace creating a shadow like darkness on the outside.


TEXT BOOK RESPONSE:

In response to our task to read the first two chapters of our textbook and make a visual response to one art work of our choice, I selected the image ‘View from Hotel Window’ by Robert Frank on page 6 to respond to.

Robert Frank

I chose this image because I admire the way Frank has captured a feeling within his photograph. It makes me wonder, what was he thinking as he was gazing out of his hotel window at the drab mining town outside? Why did he choose to take this image? What is it about the photograph that gives it an element of elegance and romance even though it is depicting a dirty run down mining town? Despairing? Satire? Contemplation? Whatever it is, it demands that I return my attention to it again and again. For me, that indicates that I regard the photographic image to be truly poetic and lyrical.

My Visual Response:

visual response 2

I have chosen to respond to Robert Franks image by taking a photograph of myself taking a photograph of outside my bedroom window. I chose to respond in this manner because looking at Franks image makes me wonder about his situation, why did he take the image? What was he wearing? Where was he standing/sitting? Etc. It was because of this thought process I thought it would be really interesting if we were able to see a photograph of Frank taking his original photograph. This is why I have chosen to capture an image of myself re creating a montage of Franks original image.

http://www.facebook.com/photographybybellery

Leave a Reply

